Jo Sidebottom

A few sundry biographical details about me:

I'm 54 and live in Milton Keynes with my partner Chris and our neurotic, attention-seeking cat.  We've been together 10 years and met through Mensa.  

I was born in the west of Ireland, but moved to England at the age of three, and grew up in Bedford.  At the age of ten I went to a rather weird and wonderful boarding school.  I thought I was going to Malory Towers - little did I know!  However, although it had its odd moments, it gave me a sense of responsibility and taught me independence.

After doing a French degree in London, I worked for an American multinational for about 15 years, and then moved to the NHS.  My first 7 years were spent working in a NHS trust, and for the last 8 years I've been working on a national project to implement a new staff payroll and HR/workforce information system.  It's the biggest HR system implementation in the world, ever, and has been very successful.  Not all NHS IT projects are doomed to failure......

We keep pretty busy with Mensa activities, but in addition I enjoy opera, theatre, family history, reading, and travel.  We discovered the joys of cruising a few years ago and have now had several cruise holidays.  The photo on the left was taken at the captain's cocktail party on a recent cruise, though we are usually less formal than that.

I also recently joined my local Red Hat chapter and enjoy the odd social outing with them.  No, not Linux... click here to find out more.